SHARE




Twenty-four
Ultimate Fighting Championship
fighters hit the scales on
Friday morning, and all 24 were cleared for combat without
issue.

The promotion returns to pay-per-view this Saturday with a stacked
card featuring two titles on the line at
UFC 276
. Both title fights are now official after the champions
and title challengers successfully made weight. In the main event,
Israel
Adesanya
will put his middleweight strap on the line against
the surging Jared
Cannonier
. Meanwhile, one of mixed martial arts’ closest
rivalries will be settled as Alexander
Volkanovski
looks to put away Max
Holloway
for a third and final time. The 12-fight card remains
intact after every fighter successfully made weight.

Never afraid to test himself, Adesanya (22-1) has bounced back well
since losing his light heavyweight title shot against Jan
Blachowicz
in 2021. Since the defeat to the larger man, “The
Last Stylebender” has defended his middleweight crown against
Marvin
Vettori
and Robert
Whittaker
. The Nigerian fighter looked toned on the scale, and
officially weighed 183.5 pounds.

Meanwhile, this marks the first title opportunity for Cannonier
(15-5). The 38-year-old rebounded from a defeat to Whittaker in
2020 with a dominant victory over Kelvin
Gastelum
and a brutal knockout of Derek
Brunson
to earn this crack at the belt. The former heavyweight
known as “The Killa Gorilla” has won five of his last six bouts,
and officially weighed 184.5 pounds.

The co-main event will see the featherweight feud between
Volkanovski (24-1) and Holloway (23-6) get settled as two of the
best 145-pound fighters clash for a third time. Volkanovski picked
up decision wins over “Blessed” in the two prior outings, although
the 2020 rematch was an extremely close split verdict. “The Great”
gone on to defend his throne against Brian
Ortega
and Chan Sung
Jung
since then, while Holloway took out Calvin
Kattar
and Yair
Rodriguez
. Both men weighed in at 144.5 pounds ahead of their
highly anticipated trilogy match.

UFC 276’s main card will stream live on Saturday on ESPN+
pay-per-view at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Early prelims begin at 6 p.m.
ET/3 p.m. PT on ESPN+ and UFC Fight Pass before moving to ABC, ESPN
and ESPN+ at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

UFC 276 Weigh-in Results:

Israel
Adesanya
(183.5) vs. Jared
Cannonier
(184.5)
Alexander
Volkanovski
(144.5) vs. Max
Holloway
(144.5)
Alex
Pereira
(184.5) vs. Sean
Strickland
(185.5)
Bryan
Barberena
(170.5) vs. Robbie
Lawler
(171)
Pedro
Munhoz
(135.5) vs. Sean
O’Malley
(135)
Brad
Riddell
(155.5) vs. Jalin
Turner
(155.5)
Donald
Cerrone
(170.5) vs. Jim Miller
(170.5)
Ian
Garry
(171) vs. Gabriel
Green
(170)
Dricus Du
Plessis
(185) vs. Brad
Tavares
(185.5)
Uriah
Hall
(186) vs. Andre Muniz
(185.5)
Maycee
Barber
(126) vs. Jessica Eye
(126)
Jessica-Rose
Clark
(135.5) vs. Julija
Stoliarenko
(136)


LEAVE A REPLY