SHARE


Gregor
Gillespie
’s Octagon return will have to wait until another
day.

The
UFC on ESPN 21
co-main event pitting Gillespie against Brad
Riddell
has been pulled from the card due to “COVID-19
protocols,” the promotion announced Saturday. The lightweight bout
will be rescheduled at a later date. As a result, UFC on ESPN 21
will proceed with 10 fights.

UFC on ESPN 21 takes place at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas and is
headlined by a middleweight clash between Kevin
Holland
and Derek
Brunson
. The prelims stream on ESPN and ESPN+ beginning at 7:30
p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT, while the main card begins on ESPN and ESPN+
at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT.

An NCAA national champion wrestler and four-time All American at
Edinboro University, Gillespie kicked off his MMA tenure with 13
consecutive triumphs – including six wins in UFC competition. He
suffered his first defeat in November 2019, falling to Kevin Lee via
head-kick KO at UFC 244. Gillespie has not fought since then.

Anchored at City Kickboxing, Riddell earned triumphs over Jamie
Mullarkey
, Magomed
Mustafaev
and Alex
da Silva Coelho
in his first three UFC outings. The 29-year-old
Auckland, New Zealand, native is 9-1 as a professional overall.


LEAVE A REPLY