The draw for the 2021 edition of the ATP Cup will be held on Friday, 22 January at 12:00pm AEDT (1am GMT). This year 12 countries will battle it out for the newest team trophy in men’s tennis.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic and No. 2-ranked Rafael Nadal headline the event as the top-ranked singles players for Team Serbia and Team Spain, respectively.

Reigning Nitto ATP Finals champion Daniil Medvedev leads Team Russia alongside fellow Top 10 star Andrey Rublev, and World No. 3 Dominic Thiem will lead Team Austria. The 2021 ATP Cup will feature 12 of the Top 13 in the FedEx ATP Rankings. Each team will consist of four players per country.

Watch Draw Friday

Qualification for the 2021 ATP Cup is based on the FedEx ATP Rankings of each country’s top-ranked singles player, while Australia qualifies by virtue of a host wildcard.

The 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three for group stage, round-robin play. The four group winners will qualify for the knock-out stages, starting with the semi-finals.


 Team  No. 1 Player  Captain
 Serbia  Novak Djokovic  Viktor Troicki
 Spain  Rafael Nadal  Pepe Vendrell
 Austria  Dominic Thiem  Wolfgang Thiem
 Russia  Daniil Medvedev  Evgeny Donskoy
 Greece  Stefanos Tsitsipas  Apostolos Tsitsipas
 Germany  Alexander Zverev  Mischa Zverev
 Argentina  Diego Schwartzman  Diego Schwartzman
 Italy  Matteo Berrettini  Vincenzo Santopadre
 Japan  Kei Nishikori  Max Mirnyi
 France  Gael Monfils  Richard Ruckelshausen
 Canada  Denis Shapovalov  Peter Polansky
 Australia  Alex de Minaur  Lleyton Hewitt

Todd Woodbridge, a winner of 22 Grand Slam doubles titles, will be joined by former Wimbledon and US Open finalist Mark Philippoussis and John Fitzgerald to conduct the draw. Commentators Jim Courier and Mark Petchey will also feature. Official Martin Oosthuysen and ATP Cup Tournament Director Tom Larner will oversee proceedings.

The draw will be broadcast on ATP Cup Facebook at 12:00pm AEDT so fans can follow from around the world. The latest news and live updates will be posted on Twitter and Instagram.

The first four countries will be placed into separate groups. Countries ranked 5 to 8 will then be randomly drawn, followed by countries ranked 9 to 12.